Posts Tagged "Magic"

Like Magic

Posted in Age-o-Meter: 8-12, Scare-o-Meter: 1

Like Magic

SNATCH A STORY     THE WICKED READ   Like Magic By Elaine Vickers Spot Illustrations by Sara Not Published by HarperCollins Publishers ISBN-13: 9780062414311 Ages: 8 – 12 Years This sweet middle grade novel featuring a diverse cast of characters proves that friendship can be just around the corner. For three ten-year-old girls, their once simple worlds are starting to feel too big. Painfully shy Grace dreads starting fifth grade now that her best friend has moved away. Jada hopes she’ll stop feeling so alone if she finds the mother who left years ago. And Malia fears the...

Read More

Wandmaker

Posted in Age-o-Meter: 8-12, Scare-o-Meter: 3

Wandmaker

SNATCH A STORY   Close your eyes and listen to the magical opening to Wandmaker:     THE WICKED READ   Wandmaker By Ed Masessa Book Published by Scholastic, Inc. ISBN-13: 9780545861748 Audiobook Published by Scholastic Audio Narrated by Ramón de Ocampo Age Range: 8 – 12 Years Magic is real — and it runs in the family — in this charming fantasy adventure about a boy who must balance his magical education with the demands of big-brotherhood, perfect for fans of Jenny Nimmo and Angie Sage. Henry Leach the Eighth doesn’t know it yet, but he’s...

Read More

Wings of Fire, Book #2: The Lost Heir

Posted in Age-o-Meter: 8-12, Scare-o-Meter: 5

Wings of Fire, Book #2: The Lost Heir

SNATCH A STORY   Close your eyes and listen to the thrilling opening to Wings of Fire, Book #2: The Lost Heir:     THE WICKED READ   Wings of Fire, Book #2: The Lost Heir By Tui T. Sutherland Book Published by Scholastic, Inc. ISBN-13: 9780545349246 Audiobook Publisher: Scholastic Audio Narrated by: Shannon McManus Age Range: 8 – 12 Years The Wings of Fire saga continues with a thrilling underwater adventure–and a mystery that will change everything! The lost heir to the SeaWing throne is going home at last. She can’t believe it’s finally...

Read More

Wings of Fire, Legends: Darkstalker

Posted in Age-o-Meter: 8-12, Scare-o-Meter: 5

Wings of Fire, Legends: Darkstalker

SNATCH A STORY   Close your eyes and listen to the thrilling opening to Wings of Fire, Legends: Darkstalker:     THE WICKED READ   Wings of Fire, Legends: Darkstalker By Tui T. Sutherland Book Published by Scholastic, Inc. ISBN-13: 9781338053616 Audiobook Published by Scholastic Audio Narrated by: Shannon McManus Age Range: 8 – 12 Years Three dragons. One unavoidable, unpredictable destiny. This is the beginning… of the end. In the SeaWing kingdom, a young prince learns he is an animus — capable of wonderful magic that comes with a terrible price. In the...

Read More

When the Sea Turned to Silver

Posted in Age-o-Meter: 8-12, Scare-o-Meter: 6

When the Sea Turned to Silver

SNATCH A STORY   Close your eyes and listen to the exciting opening to When the Sea Turned to Silver:   THE WICKED READ   When the Sea Turned to Silver By Grace Lin Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers ISBN-13: 9780316125925 Age Range: 9 – 12 Years National Book Award Finalist! 5 Starred Reviews! Pinmei’s gentle, loving grandmother always has the most exciting tales for her granddaughter and the other villagers. However, the peace is shattered one night when soldiers of the Emperor arrive and kidnap the storyteller. Everyone knows that the Emperor...

Read More